Simulation as a Teaching Tool

Course Details

Training for simulation educators who seek to create high-quality healthcare simulation programs

  • CMS_shapes_final
    Eligible Credits
    Depends on Host Site
  • CMS_shapes_final
    Course Duration
    4 Days

This course is held over four days and is able to enroll 20 participants. It is also offered in Spanish through our CMS Affiliate, Hospital virtual Valdecilla. Click on Curso de Entrenamiento para Instructores en Simulación for more information. Haga clic aquí para ver los cursos se imparten en español.

This course immerses healthcare simulation leaders and instructors in a multi-method course wherein participants learn how to teach clinical, behavioral and cognitive skills through simulation. It draws from the disciplines of aviation, healthcare, psychology, experiential learning and organizational behavior. Participants explore simulator-based teaching methods applicable across the healthcare education spectrum, including undergraduate and graduate medical, nursing and allied health domains. The daily formats vary and include simulation scenarios, lectures, small and large group discussions, and practical exercises with feedback. Typically, these courses also offer a couple of social evenings for networking and sharing experiences.

Course Topics Include:

  • Creating a challenging and safe learning environment
  • Utilizing effective debriefing techniques and avoiding ineffective ones
  • Preparing, building, conducting and debriefing realistic simulation scenarios
  • Operating a simulation program
  • Teaching clinical decision making, teamwork and crisis resource management skills
  • Developing debriefing skills
  • Introducing behavioral and educational research paradigms
  • Advancing simulation within one’s institution

Questions

If you have any questions regarding this course or would like to host this course at your institution, please Contact Us.

Course Offerings

Scroll

Course Dates
Location
Notes
Monday, May 28, 2018 -
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Hospital virtual Valdecilla (HvV), Santander
Spain

Para obtener Para obtener más información o para inscribirse contacto: Helena Anguren Paris

Monday, May 28, 2018 -
Thursday, May 31, 2018
AIXTRA, Aachen
Germany

Application information forthcoming.
For immediate inquiries contact: Sasa Sopka

Monday, June 4, 2018 -
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Centre for Healthcare Simulation (CHS), Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore (NUS)
Singapore

Application information forthcoming.
For immediate inquiries contact: Ms. Mahanom Ahmad

Monday, June 11, 2018 -
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Centre for Healthcare Simulation (CHS), Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore (NUS)
Singapore

Application information forthcoming.
For immediate inquiries contact: Ms. Mahanom Ahmad

Tuesday, June 19, 2018 -
Friday, June 22, 2018
Universidad Cuauhtémoc [HvV], Aguascalientes
Mexico

Para obtener más información o para inscribirse contacto: Helena Anguren Paris

Tuesday, August 7, 2018 -
Friday, August 10, 2018
Mater Education, South Brisbane
Australia
Application information forthcoming.
Monday, September 17, 2018 -
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Hospital virtual Valdecilla (HvV), Santander
Spain

Para obtener más información o para inscribirse contacto: Helena Anguren Paris

Tuesday, October 2, 2018 -
Friday, October 5, 2018
Asociación de Anestesia, Analgesia y Reanimación, Neuquen
Argentina

Para obtener más información o para inscribirse contacto: Helena Anguren Paris
Para más información sobre la Asociación Neuquina de Anestesia, Analgesia y Reanimación, visite el sitio web de la ANAAR.

Monday, October 22, 2018 -
Thursday, October 25, 2018
La Fundación INSIMED | Instituto de Simulación Médica [HvV], Bogotá
Colombia

Para obtener más información o para inscribirse contacto: Helena Anguren Paris

Monday, November 12, 2018 -
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Hospital virtual Valdecilla (HvV), Santander
Spain

Para obtener más información o para inscribirse contacto: Helena Anguren Paris

Tuesday, November 27, 2018 -
Friday, November 30, 2018
SIMMER (Simulación Médica Roemmers) [HvV], Buenos Aires
Argentina

Para obtener más información o para inscribirse contacto: Helena Anguren Paris

Monday, December 3, 2018 -
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile [HvV], Santiago
Chile

Para obtener más información o para inscribirse contacto: Helena Anguren Paris

Tuesday, February 19, 2019 -
Friday, February 22, 2019
Mater Education, South Brisbane
Australia
Application information forthcoming.