Dr. Rebecca Minehart Appointed Director of the Anesthesia Program at the Center for Medical Simulation

Blog - Dr. Rebecca Minehart Appointed Director of the Anesthesia Program at the Center for Medical Simulation

The Center for Medical Simulation (CMS) is pleased to announce that Rebecca Minehart, MD, has been appointed Director of its Anesthesia Program. For several years, Dr. Minehart’s clinical expertise and thought-leadership have contributed to the ongoing success of the Program. Last year she was named Associate Director and in early August will succeed Robert Nadelberg, MD as the Director. Dr. Nadelberg will be assuming her previous role of Associate Director and they will continue working closely together to create and deliver excellent simulation-based educational activities for members of our local and international Anesthesia community.

Dr. Minehart is an obstetric anesthesiologist at Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH), an Assistant Professor of Anesthesia at Harvard Medical School, and the Program Director for the MGH Obstetric Anesthesia Fellowship Program. She is an ardent education and patient safety advocate who has been involved in international efforts to both research and promote best teamwork and communication practices, especially involving speaking up and giving feedback. Dr. Minehart is a recognized expert in educational techniques utilizing simulation and is a core teaching faculty member at both CMS and the MGH Learning Laboratory.

Dr. Minehart received her Master’s in Health Professions Education from the MGH Institute of Health Professions in 2015 and was awarded the Partners Healthcare Research in Medical Education Award in 2014 for her research on feedback. She has received grant funding for research in education from the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research as well as the Executive Committee on Teaching and Education at MGH. In addition, she is a member of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Interactive Computer-Based Education Editorial Board, the Chair of the Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology Fellowship Program Directors’ Committee, and the Obstetric Anesthesia Fellowship Program Director representative to the Society of Academic Associations of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine (SAAAPM).